01 February 2012 ~ 0 Comments

Maharajapuram Viswanatha Iyer award

The Maharajapuram Viswanatha Iyer memorial award, being presented annually by the Maharajapuram Viswanatha Iyer Trust, this year, goes to mridanga vidwan Mannargudi Easwaran.


The award is in memory of Maharajapuram Viswanatha Iyer, a musician non-pareil who carved a niche for himself in the world of Carnatic music. His son Maharajapuram Santhanam, followed in his footsteps and enthralled the audiences with his mellifluous voice.


To remember the doyen, Maharajapuram Srinivasan, grandson of Viswanatha Iyer, honours musicians every year.

Veteran musicians Tirupoonthuruthy Venkatesan, Padmavathy Ananthgopalan and Srimathi Brahmanandam are to be honoured with the senior musicians award.

The youth awards for excellence go to Sandeep Narayan, Avaneeswaram S.R. Vinu and B Sivaraman.


The Maharajapuram Viswanatha Iyer award, which carries a gold medal and Rs 20,000 cash prize, would be presented at 6.30 p.m. on January 28, 2012 at Srinivasa Sastry Hall, Mylapore, Chennai.


Apart from the award ceremony, a 3-day music festival would also be inaugurated by Narayana Viswanath.


While Va Ve Subramaniam chairs the function and presents the awards, Sikkil Bhaskaran and Maharajapuram Srinivasan felicitate the awardees.



Leave a Reply